The Three Little Men in the Woods

Once upon a time there lived a man, whose wife had died; and a woman, also, who had lost her husband: and this man and this woman had each a daughter. These two maidens were friendly with each other, and used to walk together, and one day they came by the widow's house.

The Six Swans

When her six brothers fall victim to a curse that turns them into swans, their younger sister is determined to free them at any cost.

The Child’s Shroud

A mother's incessant weeping for her lost child awakens its ghost.

Snow White and Rose Red

Two lovely girls assist a grumpy dwarf and a mysterious talking bear while going about their daily work.

The Bird of Paradise

A world-weary monk pauses for a moment to listen to a beautiful bird sing, but when he walks on, he finds that a hundred years have passed.

The Emperor’s Wooing

Guda's beloved goes missing after a civil war and she refuses to believe he is dead.

The Robber Bridegroom

A miller's daughter is betrothed to a relative strange with a very dark secret. Will she survive?

Godfather Death

When a thirteenth child is born to a poor family, the father makes Death the little boy's godfather.


S. E. Schlosser
Editor of and, S.E. Schlosser is the author of the Spooky Series by Globe Pequot Press. She has been telling stories since she was a child, when games of "let's pretend" quickly built themselves into full-length tales acted out with friends. A graduate of both Houghton College and the Institute of Children's Literature, Sandy received her MLS from Rutgers University while working as a full-time music teacher and a freelance author.
The Spooky Series by S.E. Schlosser


The Frogs and the Ox

The Frogs and the Ox

The Tortoise and the Ducks

The Tortoise and the Ducks

The Wolf and the Kid

The Wolf and the Kid

The Spectre Bride

The Spectre Bride